Social Learning

1.  Bandura highlighted the value of self-efficacy in learning.  What experiences in distance learning can you cite as concrete examples to demonstrate how your efficacy beliefs about learning may have changed. (Refer to the four major sources of self-efficacy identified in the  module.)

Mastery Experiences:

As they say experience is the best teacher.  Through DE I have challenged myself to write and be able comply with the requirements as part of self-regulation.  I am not a very good writer but I think since this is the mode of communication in DE, my writing skills were honed furthermore.  In addition to this, the e-journal has encouraged me to do more than just respond but to reflect on my own learning.

Social modeling

Despite the difficulty of schedule due to work, I see my classmates being able to do what is required of us.  I am encouraged to catch up with the work load at DE at the same time remain efficient at work.

Social Persuasion:

Our virtual classmates and teacher Malou have been very engaging and encouraging.  Positive feedbacks from them fuels my desire to do more.

Psychological Responses:

I sometimes feel stressed out and could not compose anything substantial, finding it difficult to self-regulate and manage time.  I am disappointed with the kind of work I come up with sometimes and what is worse is the time frame I have to beat. It helps to think with PMA – positive mental attitude. I tell myself often, it is not a race but a learning journey where one can stop and appreciate everything that comes my way.  Doing this makes me spring back and move on.

 

2.  Discuss and elaborate through anecdotes the section

Factors affecting observational learning and performance.”

Developmental status –

My nephew, Angelo, was introduced to colored animated books as a pre-school.  The books were read to him in the beginning until he learned to read short fables independently.  As he grew older, so as his ability to concentrate developed. At present he is already in grade 5 and he reads a full length books regularly, at least one book every quarter. Aside from reading, he also learned to make his own comic strip.

Model prestige and competence –

Many products are endorsed by known personalities because we tend to admire their achievements and capabilities.  For example,  Michael Jordan for Nike.  People try to emulate him and they patronize whatever he is identified with from shoes to clothing down to his movements on the court. People pay attention to him and  identify themselves to him.

Vicarious consequences –

I have seen a friend get entangled in car accident due to texting while driving. He almost lost his life and endangered other people’s lives too.  He paid a serious amount of money due to the wreckage and hospitalizations of the persons involved in the accident. I don’t text when I drive due to this experience.

Outcome expectations –

Years back I had senior friends who took the board exams right away as soon as they graduated from dentistry and they passed. I originally planned to take the national boards after a semester of review but after seeing what my senior friends have done with positive results, I ended up taking the boards sooner than I expected. Luckily I did make it.

Goal setting  –

My parents value education and are accomplished in what they do. My siblings and I learned to value going to school to earn a professional degree because of this exposure.

Values –

As a young boy I have observed how my family honored traditional practices of giving respect like “pagmamano” especially to relatives in the province. I find it very unique to our Filipino culture since in the west they practice kissing on the cheeks followed by exchange of hellos. I have adapted pagmamano whenever I meet older people I respect in the family.

Self efficacy –

Way back in high school my friends started playing the guitar which I considered to be a difficult instrument to play.  But after my friends started learning, I was encouraged to learn as well, realizing that if they have done it, then I sure can do it too.

 

Leave a Reply

