Module 2 e-journal entry: Know Your Learning Style

What’s Your Learning Style? The Results

Your Scores:

  • Auditory: 30%
  • Visual: 55%
  • Tactile: 15%

Learning Styles Results


Results for: Mark AciertoACT              X                                    REF 

11  9   7   5   3   1   1   3   5   7   9   11

<– –>

SEN                  X                                INT

11  9   7   5   3   1   1   3   5   7   9   11

<– –>

VIS  X                                                VRB

11  9   7   5   3   1   1   3   5   7   9   11

<– –>

SEQ                                  X                GLO

11  9   7   5   3   1   1   3   5   7   9   11

<– –>

 

This is wonderful!

I have tried some of the learning style surveys just for kicks (What’s your learning style? By education planner.org & Index of learning styles questionnaires by Barbara Solomon, et.al )  and I have reaffirmed that I am a visual learner. I never thought though that my being a visual learner was that strong until I tried answering the questionnaires in the index of learning styles which indicated 11, the highest level.  I have always known that I appreciate pictures more than words as a child. I can still remember how my notebooks were filled with my scribbles and drawings that captured my interests. As a kid, I used to draw a variety of things  from cars, animals, stick people and landscapes.  I remember doing my own comic strips too.

In college, I remember that my ability to draw helped me a lot in my subjects such as anatomy and physiology.  My illustrations were always fresh in my mind as compared to the plain facts I needed to memorize for recall purposes.

I find it really entertaining to learn more nowadays because of the availability of the various multi-media materials that appeal to our senses.  In the past when computer technology was not that highly developed yet, a person’s best friend was the library. Hmm, I think I am exposing my age too much here.  Perhaps techno savvy citizens here might find that statement difficult to relate to. For to them the word library may be just synonymous to personal sleeping space.  I wonder if young people still go to the library for research. Today, everything you need to know is just a click away.

I have further realized through the survey that I am a global learner.  I like to approach things in a macro perspective first; looking at the bigger picture before going into the details.  It helps me rationalize my action plan on how to approach the process of learning.  When reading a book, I tend to scan the table of contents first.  At times, I even try to read the last part first before I actually indulge in reading it from the beginning. Does that make me weird or something?   But that’s just the way it works for me.

There is an old cliché that goes “different strokes for different folks”.  Or is it the other way around? We all have different learning styles. And as teachers or would be teachers, I believe that it is very important to understand that our students also have their own preference in terms of learning which makes them effective.  It is important that we acknowledge and respect that.  Knowing our students’ learning styles makes us more equipped and effective teachers.

Sources:

Index of Learning Style Questionnaire.http://www.engr.ncsu.edu/learningstyles/ilsweb.html

Education Planner.Org. http://www.educationplanner.org/students/self-assessments/learning-styles-quiz.shtml?event=results&A=6&V=11&T=3

Leave a Reply

